Yes, the night is still young

Review: Huawei E220 HSDPA USB Modem

Huawei E220

Been using Huawei E220 for around 1 month, I could say that this modem does its function well. No issue related to hardware. The installation process completed with auto-run in Windows Operating System, no need any installation CD, just plug the modem to any USB port and it will prompt you to start the software installation.

The connection is stable, however it depends on your network provider as well. in my home area, around Pangkalan Jati, Kalimalang. It could run very well for nights and days, without any need of reconnection.

This modem was launched back in 2006. Maximum speed is 3.6 Mbps, you could set this modem to use 3G only signal, or 3G prefered if you are not sure you will get a good reception of 3G signal.

Bought it for Rp.1.450.000 in a store at ITC Kuningan Jakarta, I am surprise to see this modem sold for Rp.1.250.000 at a small computer store in Palembang :(.

I use this modem along with Telkomsel Flash Unlimited Package which has virtually unlimited capacity but with limited maximum speed of 256Kbps (up to 3Gb per-month, before the speed is reduced to 64Kbps).

Connection of max 256Kbps is quite decent for me, allows me to check web mail, update anti virus, connect to my company VPN – Virtual Private Network, and do some downloads (never yet try to download big files though). However because the speed limitation of Telkom Flash unlimited package, I have never test the maximum speed of this modem.

I have tested this modem along with Telkomsel Flash in area of Kalimalang Jakarta (HSDPA connection – Very Good), Kuningan Jakarta (HSDPA connection – Very Good), Plaju – Palembang (HSDPA connection – not to good, some re-connection needed, sometime could not connect), Tuban – East Java (EDGE connection, but stable).

The whole body of this modem is plastics. There is no lock on the SIM card port, so you need to be careful not to drop this modem to the floor. It might spit out your SIM Card. Also don’t step on it, I believe it will break a part.

If you are a mobile person who need a notebook computer to work and be online, or you need a HSDPA modem which you could use on your home PC and notebook computer; and you just can’t rely on with your HSDPA smartphone for some reasons, I recommends Huawei E220.

Huawei E220 in Wikipedia

7 responses

  1. Pingback: MT Hancock 2008 R5 LINE H264-KingBen(2) (1S/0L) ·

  2. I believe that I need this kind of stuff, but I dont have it yet just because I havent decide which data packet to use. Do you have a suggestion, an econo data packet for daily browsing?

    August 3, 2008 at 12:33 am

  3. There are some econo data packet, with some variation e.g: unlimited speed with restricted capacity (XL), or unlimited capacity with restricted speed (telkomsel), IM2 has package also, but I have no information. There also “pay as you go” package from every provider.

    I suggest you to test as many provider as you can using “pay as you go” before go with post paid internet access. Very important to consider the connection quality in area which you will mainly stationed.

    Econo package are interesting but I suggest not to take one without test the connection on your your location.

    When you’ve done your test and have your connection, please share with us 🙂

    August 4, 2008 at 6:47 am

  4. i only buy my pc parts on very reputable computer stores both online and offline’~”

    October 28, 2010 at 10:34 am

  5. gadson

    i was trying t unlock my moderm E220 by i didn’t get the website for me to dwnload E220 simlock Unlocker, please help me with this or could u send me the package through my email
    thanx for ur concern

    November 15, 2010 at 12:34 am

  6. “’ that seems to be a great topic, i really love it .’;

    February 7, 2011 at 2:50 am

  7. good reviews
    im enjoy read this

    November 7, 2011 at 9:04 pm

Leave a Reply

