Yes, the night is still young

Using Drupal as your RSS Feed Aggregator

You can use Drupal to be your RSS Feed Aggregator.

Here’s a quick how-to.

1. Enable Aggregator Module
From Home > Administer > Site Building > Module
Check on the Aggregator Check box and Save Configuration

2. Configure Aggregator Feed
From Administer Main Page, Select Administer By module, on the Upper site of the Administer Page.
Find Aggregator Module and click Feed Aggregator
Add Category, Add Feed, and Adjust Setting to feed your needs.

3. Configure Aggregator Permission.
From Administer Main Page, Select Administer By module, on the Upper site of the Administer Page.
Find Aggregator Module and click Permission
On the Aggregator Module, “Access New Feed”, check both Anonymous User And Authenticated User.
Then Save Permission

4. Configure Aggregator as your Drupal Main Page (optional).
From Administer – Site Configuration – Site Information, find the “Default Front Page” text box, and put ‘aggregator’ in the box, then Save Configuration.

We also need to configure the Cron job so the feed update schedule is run as per our request. Let’s discuss this separately. Meanwhile you could run the cron job manually from Status Report Page.

Good! You’re done for now! example of this Feed Aggregator is www.suryosucipto.co.cc which available using a generous free hosting from www.000webhost.com and Free Domain from www.co.cc

Similar information regarding Drupal and RSS Feed Aggregator module: Creating your own RSS aggregator with Drupal.

17 responses

  1. Pingback: Our Web Development Journey « MyWeathertop Project

  2. Pingback: Using Drupal as your RSS Feed Aggregator

  3. How do I show excerpts of posts from the feeds?

    August 11, 2008 at 4:58 pm

  4. Also URLs in the content are not being parsed, how do I do that. In settings ” & ” are there, but still URLs in the posts are not hyperlinks. Any ideas?

    August 11, 2008 at 5:10 pm

  5. @Manan
    I still try to find how to show only excerpts in drupal feed, hopefully I could update you soon.

    About the URLs, my URLs in the contents are hyperlinks, you could check in my test bed. Have you check the Allowed HTML tags in your Feed Aggregator Setting?

    August 12, 2008 at 2:29 pm

  6. I have another problem, I created 2 feeds using the aggregator. Feed A aggregates from 1 set of sites and Feed B aggregates from set 2 of sites, but the feed title for both the fields is sitename aggregator. how do I change that?

    August 31, 2008 at 9:44 pm

  7. Alexwebmaster

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

    March 3, 2009 at 7:33 pm

  8. Farhan

    Really helpful, but I was wondering how can I display news feed on my home page?

    January 13, 2012 at 4:41 pm

  9. Farhan

    And when i set “aggregator” in “Default front page” title becomes “Aggregator | Website name”. Help required

    January 13, 2012 at 4:44 pm

  10. This is exactly the 2nd posting, of your blog I personally read.
    But I actually enjoy this 1, “Using Drupal as your RSS Feed Aggregator MyWeathertop Project” the very best.
    Take care ,Adeline

    February 6, 2013 at 12:58 am

  11. This will backup all of your data in case you accidentally
    delete something. A mobile phone is no longer used to just make calls.
    It has support for several image file formats like JPEG, BMP, PNG, GIF,
    ICO, PSD and more.

    May 24, 2013 at 11:38 pm

  12. I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I absolutely
    loved every little bit of it. I have got you book marked to check
    out new things you post…

    July 1, 2013 at 12:14 pm

  13. Good blog you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find high
    quality writing like yours these days. I honestly appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

    April 14, 2014 at 10:55 am

  14. I think that is among the most important info for
    me. And i am glad reading your article. However wanna observation on few normal things,
    The website taste is ideal, the articles is truly great
    : D. Good process, cheers

    October 7, 2014 at 1:48 pm

  15. If you are going for finest contents like me, simply go to see this website every day
    because it gives quality contents, thanks

    October 9, 2014 at 1:53 pm

  16. Hi there I’m not sure whether it’s me or perhaps your blog post but it
    is loading pretty slowly , it took me like a minute
    or so in order to load still , digg operates properly for me.
    Around the other hand thanks for submitting superb blog post.
    Perhaps it really has been useful to a lot of people who arrived on this page.
    I should tell you that you actually have done superb
    work with this and wish to see more amazing stuff from you.

    After viewing the articles, I have book marked your web site.

    June 19, 2015 at 10:54 am

  17. Hello there Your main web page loads up honestly slow in my situation, I am
    not sure who’s issue is that but facebook starts up relatively immediate.
    Well, Thank you for putting up an incredibly wonderful blog post.
    Nearly everybody who visited this web site should have discovered this particular article literally very helpful.
    This is undoubtedly fantastic everything that you have
    done here and want to discover even more articles from
    your site. Right after checking out your blog post, I’ve book marked your web blog.

    August 3, 2015 at 10:16 am

Leave a Reply

